September 3, 2009

Immortal - Sons of Northern Darkness

Genre(s) - Black metal
Origin - Norway
Year of release - 2002
Bitrate - 192 kbps
Size - 53.57 MB

Though never quite at the vanguard of the scene, Immortal was always a band that quietly worked very hard on building a respectable discography and eventually they received the esteem that was due. This
has long been their latest album but at the end of this month it'll be, hopefully, superseded. Like the previously upped Battles in the North, it is again cold and frostbitten and all that, but a lot more mature and measured. The same can not be said for the band photos, but that's another story. The guitar tone is clearer and blunter but no less cold, and the tracks are more structured. They are also remarkably varied: from the raging opener One by One to the glacially plodding Tyrants, and from the catchy refrain of the title track to the cinematic, nautical atmospheres Beyond the North Waves rings out the album with, they form their own entities. It's a clear sign of a band that manages not to strand on endless repetition and continually develops their sound. Makes me very curious as to the upcoming album, All Shall Fall.
  1. One by one
  2. Sons of northern darkness
  3. Tyrants
  4. Demonium
  5. Within the dark mind
  6. In my kingdom cold
  7. Antarctica
  8. Beyond the north waves
Load it down

1 comment:

  1. One of my favorite metal albums - their best, and I wonder how the next could possibly top this one.