August 11, 2009

Nachtmystium - Instinct Decay

Genre(s) - Black metal
Origin - DeKalb (ugliest town name evar!!), Illinois, USA
Year of release - 2006
Bitrate - 320 kbps
Size - 64.46 MB

It wouldn't be realistic to place Nachtmystium under a "psychedelic black metal" label, as having an intoxicating effect on the listener's mental state is or should be a goal of the genre as a whole. Blake Judd (sounds like the hero from some old computergame) and his band do take that extra effort of incorporating cues from good ol' psychedelic rock, for whatever it's worth. Some people hate it, and it does seem a bit contrived at first mention. But in reality, though Instinct Decay has become an atmospheric and druggy album with a mind of its own, you don't seem to notice too much of the rock influences apart from the oddly-processed (flanged?) guitar leads that lend a faint, actually rather warm glow over the otherwise coarse, cold music. Don't worry though; the music is definitely not (luke)warm. Compared to the Eulogy IV EP (here) the album is much more of a single whole organism, and that's the main improvement, and arguably a big one. But by all means, Judd for yourself. Ha!
  1. Instinct
  2. A seed for suffering
  3. Keep them open
  4. Chosen by no one
  5. Circumvention
  6. Eternal ground
  7. The antichrist messiah
  8. Here's to hoping
  9. Abstract nihilism
  10. Decay
Load it down

No comments:

Post a Comment