April 8, 2010

The Changelings - The Changelings

Genre(s) - Neoclassical, ethereal
Origin - Atlanta, Georgia, United States of America
Year of release - 1996
Bitrate - 192 kbps
Size - 70.53 MB

Supremely independent and haunting music that sounds like it could have been made anywhere and anytime except for the American nineties - here's another Changelings album. Making use of a great repertoire of classical and pre-modern instruments, vividly coloured, swirling melodies are layered like paint in a landscape by Caspar David Friedrich. It gives a similar panoramic width, set in tones of falling dusk on overgrown ruins, etcetera. It runs the gamut from pastoral serenity to percussion-driven bombast in smooth, gradual crescendo, never breaking the constant natural flow. Earthquake at Versailles and Into this Divide stand out in that respect. Wonderfully dreamy chamber music for romantics only.

The band's third album, Amphibian, had already been posted here.
  1. Pomegranate
  2. Season of mist
  3. Earthquake at Versailles
  4. Song of the Sephardim
  5. Pranam
  6. Into this divide
  7. Incantation
  8. Solitude
  9. Awakening
  10. Seraphim
  11. 11:59 PM October 30
  12. Sunday morning
Load it down

1 comment: